Dodging bullets, sleeping in caves

Somehow our staying in Volcan during the emergency period earlier this week became Peggy’s departure for the United States and my fleeing into Costa Rica.   This came about apparently while one of our neighbors was listening in on my phone conversation with our landlord Lily.

I had called her to explain what was happening, although we had explained it to our counter part, who in fact was there when our sector leader came to our Business Planning Seminar to tell us that we had to close the seminar a day early.  Nonetheless we felt we should let her know directly.

So the neighbor who had been listening in somehow came to the conclusion not that we were comfortably waiting in nearby Volcan, a mere 45 minute, 200 curve bus ride away. We stayed there because it is closer to our collection point where we all had to go if we were being evacuated, and to food, medical care and our transport options were better.  In addition, we stayed with two other volunteers, one of whom is a nurse.  If anyone needed extra help, being unable to walk or whatever, there being four of us together gave us more options.

By the time we returned, our neighbors thought we were possibly not returning.  So for fun I began embellishing the story, complaining about having to sleep on the stone floor of a cave in the Costa Rican mountains while police passed within inches and tigers roamed in the darkness.  They are used to my joking by now and know more or less when I am being serious.  More or less.

This entry was posted in Gary's posts, Peace Corps 2009-2010. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Dodging bullets, sleeping in caves

  1. Free Money says:

    I’m sorry, but I completely disagree! And you didn’t back up your speculation with any hard evidence.

  2. Wonderful website. Very helpful. Thanks for writing this. best place to buy watches

  3. It looks that you’ve put a good amount of effort into your article and I want a lot more of these on the World Wide Web these days. I truly got a kick out of your post. I do not have a bunch to to say in reply, I only wanted to register to say special work.

  4. Salutation, perhaps this is not on theme but anyway, I have been browsing about your web site and it looks truly neat. impassioned about your activity. I’m building a new blog and hard put to make it appear great, and provide really good content. I have revealed very much on your website and I look forward to more updates and will be coming back.

  5. Sammy Osollo says:

    Excellent article. Very helpful. Thanks for sharing.

  6. I’m glad you could write about this. I think it’s very interesting!

  7. Amazingly interesting web post! Continue the great posts.

  8. But now I have come to believe that the whole world is an enigma, a harmless enigma that is made terrible by our own mad attempt to interpret it as though it had an underlying truth.

  9. naklejki ?cienne szablony malarskie wspania?e naklejki na ?cian? dodaj? blasku ka?de mieszkanie naklejki ?cienne

  10. Extremely interesting blog article! Continue the amazing quality.

  11. marvelous piece of content. you actually are a terrific journalist. i enjoy your work very much. thanks for your time.

  12. naklejki na?cienne to idealne dodatki do domu naklejki na ?cian? ornamenty ch?opiec naklejki scienne udekoruj

  13. incredible piece of writing. you are unquestionably a exceptional journalist. i enjoy your tips a whole lot. thank you.

  14. I dont know what to say. This blog is fantastic. Thats not really a really huge statement, but its all I could come up with after reading this. You know so much about this subject. So much so that you made me want to learn more about it. Your blog is my stepping stone, my friend. Thanks for the heads up on this subject. Stuhrling Watches

  15. That’s excellent and very nicely written. Usually I tend not to make comments on the web, However , I have got to congratulate you on this one. Awesome site

  16. Issac Maez says:

    I just stumbled on your blog when i was lookng on Yahoo. I have to say that the information here was the most complet that I found anyplace. I am definitly bookmarkin this to be bck and study later

  17. Specifically, to the point and factual. I like it!

  18. What are some good healthy diets for diabetics?

  19. I wish I could write such articles, I can then increase traffic to your website. Please some tips on how to do it if it is a long phase process?

  20. nice spreading thanks a lot.

  21. It!|s how a globe spins, for the best and dangerous. Link up with, increase, consequently overcom would be the process consumers has to be practicing despite the fact that.

  22. Reckon and this is what many ppl. implement at present.

  23. Riley See says:

    Very good posting ( space ) waiting for the next

  24. As i enjoyed reading the thinking behind never setting personally within the dangers.

  25. Luisa Zatko says:

    I actually popular is a superb not even setting personally around the risk.

  26. Mariam Tisa says:

    Little kidding around. Looking at one or two you actually wonder any time you!|re swamped in many feature.

  27. Awesome submit. Delighted to work out you!|re returning by the following, I was thinking you’re executed submitting. Dream to observe alot more rapidly!

  28. Wonderful short article, them reduced the problem. Be grateful for revealing

  29. Good post, and she or he made the effort. nice posting hold functioning

  30. Riley See says:

    Good put up. Seriously happy to check you!|re back found at them, I was thinking you are succesfully done ad. Desire to see much more very quickly!

Leave a Reply

